“To play without passion is inexcusable!”

             Ludvig van Beethoven

Composers & Conductors:
Claudio Abbado: http://www.deutschegrammophon.com/artist/biography?ART_ID=ABBCL
Marin Alsop: http://www.marinalsop.com/
Leonard Bernstein: http://www.leonardbernstein.com/conductor.htm
Victoria Bond: http://www.victoriabond.com/
Martyn Brabbins: http://www.intermusica.co.uk/brabbins/biography
Andrey Boreyko: http://www.laphil.com/philpedia/artist-detail.cfm?id=2288
Semyon Bychkov: http://www.semyonbychkov.com
Sergiu Celibidache: http://www.celibidache.net/english/main_frame.html
Riccardo Chailly: http://www.riccardochailly.com/
Catherine Comet: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Catherine_Comet
James Conlon: http://www.jamesconlon.com/
Gustavo Dudamel: http://www.gustavodudamel.com/
Eric Ericson: http://www.singers.com/arrangers/ericericson.html
JoAnn Falletta: http://www.joannfalletta.com/
Wilhelm Furtwangler: http://www.furtwangler.org/
Sir John Eliot Gardiner: http://www.monteverdi.co.uk/about/gardiner
Valery Gergiev: http://www.valery-gergiev.ru/ru/
Bernard Haitink: http://www.askonasholt.co.uk/artists/conductors/bernard-haitink
Mariss Jansons: http://www.opus3artists.com/artists/mariss-jansons
Herbert von Karajan: http://www.karajan.co.uk/
Carlos Kleiber: http://www.carlos-kleiber.com/
James Levine: http://www.metoperafamily.org/metopera/about/whoweare/levine.aspx
Alexander Lingas: http://users.ox.ac.uk/~fmml0030/
Sir Neville Marriner: http://www.asmf.org/html/sir-neville-marriner.html
Kurt Masur: http://www.kurtmasur.com/
Zubin Mehta: http://www.zubinmehta.net/
Vladimir Minin: http://meloman.ru/?id=627&language=switch
Ivan Moody: http://www.ivanmoody.co.uk/
                     http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ivan_Moody
Zae Munn: http://www.zaemunn.com/
Ricardo Muti: http://www.riccardomuti.com
Il’ya Musin: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ilya_Musin
John Nelson: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Nelson_(conductor)
Seiji Ozawa: http://artsbeat.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/09/05/seiji-ozawas-return-to-the-stage/
Arvo Part:  http://www.arvopart.info/
                   http://www.arvopart.org/
                   http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arvo_Part
Alexander Polianichko: http://http:www.ingpen.co.uk/artist/alexander-polianichko/
Sir Simon Rattle: http://www.berliner-philharmoniker.de/en/berliner-philharmoniker/artistic-direction/
Fritz Reiner: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fritz_Reiner
Helmuth Rilling: http://www.opus3artists.com/artists/helmuth-rilling
Esa-Pekka Salonen: http://www.esapekkasalonen.com/
Kurt Sander:  http://www.nku.edu/~sanderk/index.html
Phillip Schroeder: http://www.phillipschroeder.com/
Leonard Slatkin: http://www.leonardslatkin.com/
Sir Georg Solti: http://www.georgsolti.com/
George Szell: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Szell
John Tavener: http://easyweb.easynet.co.uk/~snc/tavener.htm
Yuri Temirkanov: http://imgartists.com/artist/yuri_temirkanov
Michael Tilson Thomas: http://www.michaeltilsonthomas.com/
Alexander Titov: http://www.spb-orchestra.ru/index_eng.php
Tikey Zes: http://www.scn.org/arts/cappella/TZCWnotes.htm
David Zinman: http://www.davidzinman.org/

Conducting Competitions & Summer Programs:
American Academy of Conducting at Aspen: http://www.aspenmusicfestival.com/students-welcome/programs-of-study/american-academy-of-conducting-at-aspen/
Arturo Toscanini International Conducting Competition: http://www.wfimc.org/Webnodes/en/Web/Public/Competitions/Competition+info?org=16649
Cadaqués Orchestra International Conducting Competition: http://www.orquestradecadaques.com/
Concours International des jeunes chefs d'orchestre: http://www.festival-besancon.com/index.php/concours/
Conductors Institute of South Carolina: http://conductorsinstitute.com/index.html
Conductors Retreat at Medomak: http://www.conductorsretreat.org/
Dimitris Mitropoulos International Competition for Conducting: http://www.mitropouloscompetition.gr/
Donatella Flick Conducting Competition: http://www.conducting.org/
First International Chicago Symphony Orchestra Sir Georg Solti Conducting Competition & Apprenticeship: http://cso.org/Page.aspx?id=11778
Evgeny Svetlanov International Conducting Competition: http://www.svetlanov-evgeny.com
Gustav Mahler Conducting Competition: http://www.bambergsymphony.com/dirigentenwettbewerb1.html
International Conductorts’ Competition Sir Georg Solti: http://www.dirigentenwettbewerb-solti.de/english/
International Sibelius Conductors’ Competition: http://www.sibeliusconductorscompetition.org/frameset.html
Jorma Panula Conducting Competition: http://www.jyvaskylasinfonia.fi/english
Lead Like the Great Conductors:http://www.ted.com/talks/itay_talgam_lead_like_the_great_conductors.html
Leeds Conductors Competition: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leeds_Conductors_Competition
López-Cobos International Opera Conductors Competition: http://en.academic.ru/dic.nsf/enwiki/10093816
Los Aneglos Philharmonic Institute Conductors’ Program: http://www.laphil.com/philpedia/dudamel-fellows-201213
Maazel-Vilar Conductor's Competition: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maazel-Vilar_Conductor%27s_Competition
Malko Competrition for Young Conductors: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malko_Competition
Oregon Bach Festival: http://www.oregonbachfestival.com
Rachmaninoff Conducting Competition: http://conductingmasterclass.wordpress.com/2009/02/23/rachmaninoff-conducting-competition-2010/
Tanglewood Music Center Conductor’s Program: http://www.bso.org/micro-sites/tanglewood-music-center/fellowships/conducting.aspx
Tokyo International Music Competition for Conducting: http://www.conductingtokyo.org/eng/16th/

Doctoral Conducting Programs in the US:
University of Arizona, Tucson: http://music.arizona.edu/index.php/students/degrees/graduate/
Arizona State University, Glendale: http://music.asu.edu/about/degrees.php
University of California at Los Angelos:
http://www.music.ucla.edu/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1018&Itemid=110
University of Southern California: http://www.usc.edu/schools/music/programs/choral/index.html
University of Colorado, Boulder: http://music.colorado.edu/departments/conducting
Yale University, New Haven: http://music.yale.edu/academics/conducting.html
University of Florida, Gainsville: http://www.arts.ufl.edu/progNorthwestern University, Evanstonrams/conducting.aspx
Florida State University, Tallahassee: http://www.music.fsu.edu/Areas-of-Study/Conducting/Choral-Conducting
University of Georgia, Athens: http://www.music.uga.edu/degree_programs/Degree/Graduate/DMAConducting/ Georgia
University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign: http://www.music.illinois.edu/Doctor-of-Musical-Arts-in-Performance-and-Literature
Northwestern University, Evanston: http://www.music.northwestern.edu/programs/conducting.html
Indiana University, Bloomington:http://music.indiana.edu/degrees/graduate-diploma/doctoral/index.shtml
University of Iowa, Iowa City: http://music.uiowa.edu/graduate-program/conducting-ma-dma
University of Kentucky, Lexington: http://finearts.uky.edu/?q=node/366
University of Maryland, College Park: http://www.music.umd.edu/academic_programs/dma
New England Conservatory of Music, Boston: http://www.necmusic.edu/doctoral-Programs
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor: http://www.music.umich.edu/departments/conducting/index.htm
Michigan State University, East Lansing: http:// http://www.music.msu.edu/areas-studios/conducting/
University of Minnesota, Minneapolis: http://music.umn.edu/degrees-programs/grad/conducting/dmaconducting
University of Missouri, Kansas City: http://conservatory.umkc.edu/doctoral-degrees-conservatory.cfm
University of Nevraska, Lincoln: http://www.unl.edu/music/grad/101DMA_conducting.shtml
Eastman School of Music, Rochester: http://www.esm.rochester.edu/ensembles/degrees/
Ohio State University, Columbus: http:music.osu.edu/doctor-musical-arts
University of Oklahoma, Norman: http://music.ou.edu/index.cfm?a=dma
University of Oregon, Eugene: http://music.uoregon.edu/academics/doctoralcheck.htm
University of South Carolina, Columbia: http://www.sc.edu/music/study/performance_areas/conducting/index.php
University of Texas, Austin: http://www.music.utexas.edu/areas/details.aspx?id=2
Texas Christian University, Fort Worth: http://www.music.tcu.edu/degrees.asp
Rice University, Houston: http://music.rice.edu/areasofstudy.shtml
University of Houston: http://www.music.uh.edu/academics/graduate.html
University of Washington, Seattle: http://www.music.washington.edu/divisions/
James Madison University, Harrisonburg: http://www.jmu.edu/music/auditions/graduate.html#conducting
University of West Virginia, Morgantown: http://music.wvu.edu/future_students/graduate_programs/doctor_of_musical_arts
University of Wisconsin, Madison: http://www.music.wisc.edu/conducting/choral/dma

Professional Organizations & Journals:
American Choral Review: http://www.chorusamerica.org/publications.cfm
Choral Journal: American Choral Directors Association: http://www.acda.org
College Music Society: http://www.music.org
Conductors Guild: http://www.conductorsguild.org
International Choral Bulletin: International Federation of Choral Music: http://www.ifcm.net
Il’ya Musin Society: http://www.musinsociety.com
International Journal of Research in Choral Singing: http://www.choralresearch.org
Symphony Magazine: League of American Orchestras: http://www.americanorchestras.org
The Voice: http://www.chorusamerica.org/conducting-performing

Publisher of Russian Choral Music:
Musica Russica: http://www.musicarussica.com

Texts:
Asafiev, Boris. Izbranniye tridy, vol. 1-6. Moscow: Izdate’stvo akademii nauk SSSR, 1952.
Boult, Adrian C. A Handbook of Conducting. London: Oxford University Press, 1036.
Caldwell, Timothy. Dalcroze Eurhythmics with Robert M. Abramson. DVD published by GIA Publications, Inc.
Chesnokov, Pavel. The Choir and How To Direct It. Trans. John C. Stuhr- Rommereim. San Diego: Musica Russica, 2009.
Decker, Harold A., and Julius Herford, eds. Choral Conducting: A Symposium. Englewood Cliffs: Prentice Hall, 1988.
Green, Elizabeth A. H. The Modern Conductor. Upper Saddle River: Prentice Hall, 1997.
Jacobson, Bernard. Conductors on Conducting. Frenchtown: Columbia Publishing Co., Inc., 1979.
Leinsdorf, Erich. The Composer’s Advocate. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1981.
Malko, Nikolai.
            The Conductor and His Baton. Copenhagen: Wilhelm Hansen, 1950.
            The Conductor’s Score. Englewood Cliffs, Prentice Hall, 1985.
Osnovi tehniki dirizhirovaniia (The Basis of Conducting Technique). Leningrad: Muzyka, 1965.
Matheopoulos, Helena. Maestro. New York: Harper & Row, Publishers, 1982.
Musin, Ilya.
            Iazyk dirizhiorskogo zhesta (The Language of the Conductor’s Gesture). Moscow: Muzyka, 2006.
            O vospitanii dirizhiora (On Educating a Conductor). Leningrad: Muzyka, 1987.
            Tehnika dirizhirovaniia (The Technique of Conducting). Leningrad: Muzyka, 1967.
Palmer, Parker. The Courage to Teach. San Francisco: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. 2010.
Schoenberg, Harold C. The Great Conductors. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1967.
Schuller, Gunther. The Compleat Conductor. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997.
Schrock, Dennis. Choral Repertoire. New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.
Wagner, Richard. Wagner on Music and Drama. Translated by H. Ashton Ellis. New York: E. P. Dutton & Co., Inc., 1964.
Walter, Bruno. Of Music and Music-Making. London: Faber and Faber, 1957.
Weingartner, Felix. Weingartner on Music and Conducting: Three Essays by Felix Weingartner. Trans.  
            Ernest Newman, Jessie Crosland & H. M. Schott. New York: Dover Publications, Inc., 1969.

Video recordings:
The Art of Conducting: Great Conductors of the Past. VHS Hi-Fi Stereo #4509-95038-3. TELDEC
Classics International & Sender Freies Berlin, 1994.
Carlos Kleiber, dir. Beethoven Symphonies Nos 4 & 7. The Concertgebouw Orchestra, Amsterdam. Phillips
Video Classics, 070-200-3, 1987.
Caldwell, Timothy. Dalcroze Eurhythmics with Robert M. Abramson. Chicago: GIA Publications, Inc., 2010.

You Tube:
Il’ya Musin conducting Tchaikovsky in his class: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dz1fHSvtZfQ&feature=related

 

 
Dale M. Golden, E-mail: dgolden@dalegoldenlaw.com, Phone: 312.201.9730 © 2014 Peter Jermihov. All Rights Reserved.